We decided to time our next visit to Fresh/Shinsen for Wednesday when they had their tasting plate deals.  We already had an experience of the tasting plates last year but were a little more circumspect in our selections because of the cost.  This time, we chose to have 7 tasting plates -  5 from Fresh and 2 from Shinsen.

From Fresh

Picture
White bait, scallops, arancini balls, belly pork, lamb cutlets

From Shinsen

Picture
Panko calamari, soft shell crab
When the tasting plates arrived, I thought that this would be polished off without any problem.  The white bait was incredibly.  The soft shell crabs were perfect.  The panko calamari were crispy and tender.  Having said that though, I think I can replicate it!

The arancini balls were amazing.  The belly pork was similar to what I had the first night and the lamb was great.

While it didn't look all that big, we were completely stuffed.  No room for dessert which was unfortunate as we have yet to sample their desserts.

Drinks

Picture
I also wanted to share two interesting drinks I had.  Pictured is the Hills Cider which was available in apple or pear flavour.  I chose pear.  It was a refreshing drink.  Great for a hot summer's night.

Picture
The other drink I indulged in was the Lord Nelson's dark ale, malty with chocolate overtones.

This restaurant is highly recommended.  If you are in Coolangatta, give it a go.  It's a tad pricey but if you aim for the daily deals, you won't be disappointed.

Shop 1- 3/78 Musgrave Street, Kirra QLD.



Leave a Reply.